Who is the most powerful donor?

30 Jul

money

There is a certain feeling of power when you can express and fulfill an impulse in seconds. American society thrives on instant gratification. I believe that this is, in part, due to the feeling of power. Here’s an excellent article from Yahoo Business on the power of now.

To me, this same concept of the power applies even more to the notion of giving to a nonprofit. When the giving process is laborious and time-consuming I think some of the feeling of power goes away. In my mind’s eye, I just can’t see making donating hard to do and yet that’s the case for some causes. It follows then that I prefer to give using RAZ Mobile, not just because I founded RAZ Mobile, but because I can give to any cause on our platform in about 20 seconds. That is instant gratification for me, the cause I gave to and in some cases someone or something in need.

There’s no app to download and I only had to fill out the donation form once. I store my credit card info securely just like I do with Apple or Amazon. Now, when a RAZ Mobile customer asks for help with a donation, I feel very powerful in being able to give in 20 seconds on any screen-phone, tablet or PC.

The asks can come in an email, a tweet, a Facebook posting, a text message and even direct mail. And I can respond right then and there if I choose to do so. This makes me feel very powerful.

And I don’t mean power in the political sense. I mean power in that I am ready to give and express my support in a few taps on my phone. I can fulfill my impulse to give very, very easily. This makes me feel good and all nonprofits should strive to make their donors feel good. It encourages a repeat act of giving.

I don’t think it’s selfish to feel good or powerful nor do I feel like a slave to instant gratification. We’re talking about giving to help others after all.

Into the future I don’t think legacy means of giving tap into this feeling of power and in fact, I think they make some feel like they are powerless since some don’t have checking accounts or PCs. Some may resent a laborious giving experience or that a response to a direct mail ask begets more mail not just from the cause given to but from other causes that bought the donor list of the cause given to.

I also like the sense of power of using technology to help lower the cost of a dollar raised while raising the ROI of the cause that I gave to.

Call me an early adopter if you want because I certainly feel like I’m on a mission to do my part to make the world a better place. I prefer to think of myself in other terms-I am ready to give anytime, anywhere in 20 seconds. All your nonprofit has to do is ask. I am the most powerful donor.

One Response to “Who is the most powerful donor?”

  1. idm serial key September 15, 2014 at 1:45 AM #

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice,
    keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

