Please, not another password

6 May

friction2

Yesterday I learned that we were not selected by a potential customer to help them with their mobile engagement and fundraising. Competition is good for nonprofits and I humbly realize that we can’t win everyone’s business.

Still, we have customers see overall giving go up dramatically on our platform and I can’t help myself in wanting to help all nonprofits raise their giving by 30% or more.

Having not been selected I sometimes make a small donation to the cause that didn’t select us just to see what the competition’s experience is like.

Does the money I gave go to the platform first and the cause down the road, some time later?

Is the giving experience polished with little friction like ours?

Are number fields optimized to show the numpad on my phone or do they just use the old QWERTY keyboard on my phone?

It’s stuff like this that I look at because little details like this can mean the difference between getting a donation or not and it also impacts the size of the gift.

So, like I said, I made a small gift and BAM! there it was.

“Claim your account”. Claim it to do what?

“Create your password”. ARRGHHHH!!!!! Not another UserID and password that I have to remember. Please, no more passwords to remember when I’m feeling generous, in the moment and ready to give.

Why do I feel this way about passwords for nonprofit giving? Because I forget passwords all the time and I don’t have time to go through the “Forgot my password” journey on my phone. I tried to make a gift and now I’ve forgotten my password and I’ve changed my mind. Passwords in the giving process are friction and as the equation above points out friction costs money.

When we created RAZ Mobile I explicitly told our developers “NO PASSWORDS!!!”.

That’s why, at the end of the donation process for first-time givers on RAZ Mobile we ask them if they would like to create a 4-digit PIN to securely “tokenize” (here’s some background on tokenization-it’s the way to avoid getting hacked. Hopefully the platform you select deploys this state-of-the-art technology like we do) their information for easy, FAST and secure repeat gifts to any cause on our platform. Creating a PIN is an option and we don’t make you “Claim your account” or “Create a password” that you’ll forget.

We chose a 4-digit PIN for repeat gift versus the UserID+Password combo since this is the same way I use my ATM card and I know my PIN by heart since I use my ATM card all the time.

It’s WAY EASIER for me to recall my PIN when I am “in the moment” and wanting to make a gift.

When you’re looking for a powerful online platform to help your nonprofit go mobile please follow my advice here-Please, not another password.

Dale Knoop leads a great team working to make RAZ Mobile a powerful platform for any cause engaged in fundraising. Any cause can create an content-rich mobile presence, share it through text messages, social media, QR codes, advertising and more and best of all-quickly and securely process donations from motivated supporters with a minimum of friction. Dale holds multiple patents and applications for patent in the mobile space including advertising, content optimization, geo-targeting, negative QOS and a mnemonic device QR code alternative.

Leave a Reply

