My biggest mobile giving pet peeve

20 May

time

My last blog implored nonprofits to move away from requiring me to use a password to create a giving account and to make repeat gifts. It wasn’t even close to being a rant. It was more of me pleading with the nonprofit space to become more advanced in their use of technology like our tokenization/PIN capability for secure and easy repeat donations on any screen in seconds AND NO PASSWORDS!

This post, as the title suggests is a full-on rant. I’ll be brief but let me get this out of my system.

You see, my biggest pet peeve in the mobile giving space is making me open my numeric keypad on my phone for a number only data field. In fact this pet peeve of mine extends into the for-profit world.

Conversely, our customers and their donors enjoy an experience on their phone which opens the numpad for numeric-only donation form fields.

I know you think this is a small thing but on a mobile phone it’s not. As the image above suggests it is lost time for the donor.

If your nonprofit has a mobile-optimized experience, that’s great. Optimization includes opening the numpad on my phone for numeric-only fields like my zip code or my credit card number.

Pet peeves are a personal thing (some would say personal problem-HA!) and yet every step you make a donor go through, including making them open their number keypad on their phone, lengthens their journey to donation completion (which is a bad experience) and it makes them think twice about repeat gifts (which is also bad).

Take this simple test-go to our home page on your PC and select a cause to make a gift to under “See who’s using RAZ Mobile” and text it to your phone. Make a small (or large-Yeah!!) donation. Then make a donation using your phone and your nonprofit’s current online donation experience.

See the difference?

Maybe my pet peeve can help you improve your donors’ giving experience for the better.

Dale Knoop leads a great team working to make RAZ Mobile a powerful platform for any cause engaged in fundraising. Any cause can create an content-rich mobile presence, share it through text messages, social media, QR codes, advertising and more and best of all-quickly and securely process donations from motivated supporters with a minimum of friction. Dale holds multiple patents and applications for patent in the mobile space including advertising, content optimization, geo-targeting, negative QOS and a mnemonic device QR code alternative.

Leave a Reply

