Don’t “Bart Simpson” your donors

10 Jun

This is the 100th RAZ Mobile blog.

bart

We recently had a customer let us know that they had deployed their brand new, responsive design mobile site and that they would no longer like to use their RAZ Mobile site for engagement, fundraising and all the other cool things we offer nonprofits like unlimited text messaging and crowd-funding.

When this happens I must admit that I immediately go to the site of the nonprofit to see what they have done.

I look to see if the site is just a landing page with links to PC content in it. This is not a best practice.

I look to see how much content is on the site and how it is arranged. In this case the nonprofit in question is leveraging their PC site for content so there was too much content and too many drop downs to navigate.

As we have always written here, mobile visitors to your site, responsive or not, will give you about a minute to get to the point. Too much content and too many drop downs may be fine for PC visitors but it’s too much navigation for mobiles. “Less is more” should be your mobile content mantra.

Then I got to the clincher-what’s the donation experience like? I’d like to share their mobile donation “journey” with you.

To set the stage, I searched for this nonprofit (in this case a museum) and when I found them I tapped on their primary domain URL.

Their landing page loaded and then……

  • I had to tap on “Menu” in order to expose more of the site. My first scroll found no mention of how to donate on the landing page.
  • However, “Menu” did open up a “Support” drop down which was below the fold (below the bottom of the screen)
  • I tapped on “Support” to open it up and that opened another menu
  • Donate did not appear on this page so I scrolled down
  • Scrolling down showed “Donate Now” which I tapped on
  • I scrolled down some more and also saw that the page overlapped to the right. So the page went up/down and left/right. This is not a best practice either.
  • I was able to see preset donation amounts and the ability to “Donate with Card” which I tapped on. There was no listing of cards accepted. (This is important since I use my Amex for points and many nonprofits don’t take Amex because of the fees.)
  • I did not want to make a donation using the preset amounts (they were too high) so I tapped on “Donate Custom Amount”
  • When I did this the custom amount field was pre-populated with $50.00 which, in order for me to enter an amount, I had to delete the $50.00
  • As I am deleting the $50.00 entry so I can enter $20.00 the numpad has not been brought up which means I have to open it. (PLEASE-if a text entry field is all numerics open the numpad for the visitor-it removes friction!)
  • I entered $20.00 and tapped on the “Continue” field which re-directed me to Stripe (a popular credit card processor) and then Stripe tells me that there was a problem loading the page and that I should try again later.

I don’t think so.

As I am going through the above process, I hear Bart Simpson in my head saying, characteristically, “ARE WE THERE YET!”

The stark reality for this museum is that I would have been done with my donation had they used RAZ Mobile for their donation process.

The donation journey shared above was/is fraught with friction and ended in total failure. It cost the museum $20.

Dale Knoop leads a great team working to make RAZ Mobile a powerful platform for any cause engaged in fundraising. Any cause can create an content-rich mobile presence, share it through text messages, social media, QR codes, advertising and more and best of all-quickly and securely process donations from motivated supporters with a minimum of friction. Dale holds multiple patents and applications for patent in the mobile space including advertising, content optimization, geo-targeting, negative QOS and a mnemonic device QR code alternative.

 

Leave a Reply

